De-escalate appears on national TV: De kennis van nu

On 21 December De-escalate featured in the Dutch science program De kennis van nu. Antal (image above, left), Tinus and Yvonne explain the background and goals of the project to Andre Kuijpers - the famous Dutch former astronaut (image above, right).

View the item here:

Op 21 december werd een item over De-escalate uitgezonden in het NTR programma De kennis van nu. Een mooi item, gefilmd in het lab en op straat, omringd door enthousiast uitgaanspubliek.

npo tv de kennis van nu/21-12-2014 


De-escalate has won the Don Berghuijs Safety Award 2014!

On 10 december, the De-escalate project was awarded by the Blomberg Institute ( The Don Berghuijs Safety award was offered after the three nominated projects had presented their pitch during the Captains Dinner Safety in the Pieterskerk in Leiden. For De-escalate, Caro van der Lijcke (gemeente Eindhoven) and Yvonne de Kort (TU/e) presented the pitch this time.

Prof. Dr. Ben Ale, emeritus professor Safety and  Energency management presented the award: “De-Escalate won the award because of the project's innovative strategy to combine knowledge on effects of lighting on human emotion and behaviour with new knowledge on how to manage the behaviour of individuals and crowds in servive of a safer environment.” 

The runners up were the Earthquake monitor of the Groningen safety region, and Twente Safety Campus of the Twente safety region.

De-escalate nominated for Don Berghuijs Safety Award 2014

ILI's De-escalate project was nominated for the prestigious Don Berghuijs Safety Award, organized by the BlomBerg Institute! In this second round of the competition, we had to speed date with a jury of experts in the safety domain. After an intensive session, De-escalate was selected as one of the last three contestants.

We will now get one last chance to present our project during a captain's dinner on December 10. Then votes of the jury, the general public, and the participants in the captain's dinner will determine who will win this year's award.

The prize will be handed by the Dutch minister of Infrastructure and the Environment, Melanie Schultz van Haegen.

You can still vote for our project on: